Support Center

Merging Salesforce Contacts

Merging Salesforce Contacts can have different outcomes depending on the scenario. It is important to note that when a merge occurs in Salesforce, the losing record(s) will be deleted. So it's the same as if you had independently deleted a record in Salesforce. Below are some common scenarios with expected outcomes.

When two Contacts are merged and they both have the same email address on them and the same subscriber lists.

Campaign Monitor only allows an email address to appear once on a subscriber list. So if the contacts have the same email address then they would only appear on the subscriber list once.  A subscriber list membership record would be linked to only one contact, generally the record that is the most recently modified. When a merge happens the subscriber list membership record will appear under the winning contact. 

When two Contacts are merged that have the same email address but are on different subscriber lists.

If two contacts have the same email address and each is active on a different subscriber list, the winning contact lists will remain on their Salesforce record. Then when the sync next runs the list membership records for the losing contact will appear on the winning Contact (under Subscriber List Memberships with the status of Deleted) the next time the sync runs.  The losing Contact record will be deleted from their subscriber list in Campaign Monitor. 

When two Contacts are merged and have different email addresses but are on the same Subscriber lists.

The winning contact will remain active on any subscriber lists. The losing contacts subscriber list membership records will be marked as deleted and may appear in the subscriber list membership related list for the winning contact for a short time until the sync, which runs every hour by default, removes the subscriber list membership record from the winning contact.

When two Contacts are merged and they have different email addresses and are on different subscriber lists.

The winning contact will remain active on any subscriber lists and will be added to any subscriber lists the losing contact was on and marked active. The losing contacts subscriber list membership records will be marked as deleted and may appear in the subscriber list membership related list for the winning contact for a short time until the sync which runs every hour by default unparents the subscriber list membership record.
 

Questions

support@beaufort12.com
http://assets0.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete